- To legally drive on any Kentucky road, you must first purchase personal injury protection, or PIP insurance, and minimum liability insurance. Minimum liability covers any damages the policy holder inflicts on other persons or vehicles on the road, while PIP covers the actual policy holder, his vehicles and his passengers. The minimum liability requirement is 25/50/10, which covers $25,000 if one person is injured; $50,000 if more than one is injured; and $10,000 in property damage coverage. You may also opt for a $60,000 auto liability plan. You are also required to purchase a minimum of $10,000 in PIP insurance, which can be raised to a total of $50,000 in protection.
- You must show documentation at all times of liability and PIP car insurance, or you will be in violation of state law. Proof of insurance must be shown if you are pulled over for a traffic citation, are involved in a car crash or when you register your vehicle. According to the website AutoInsuranceTips.com, you are in danger of breaking the law if you have a lapsed policy, as the state of Kentucky does not offer a grace period for premium payments. Lapsed coverage is treated as no coverage in the state.
- The jail time for first-offense drivers caught uninsured is a maximum of 90 days, according to CarInsurance.com. Subsequent offenses will lead to longer jail sentences depending on the severity of the crime.
- The fines for driving without auto insurance in Kentucky start at $500 to $1,000 for first-time offenders, and increase in severity for subsequent offenses. If you are jailed for driving without insurance as a first-offense, you may be penalized financially at the same time.
License Revocation and Plates Suspension
- First-time offenders caught without auto insurance coverage may lose their license and plates for up to a year, or until proof of auto insurance is shown. Subsequent offenses will result in longer license and plate revocation periods depending on the circumstances of the offense.